Year 5 and 6 Camp Recount

Task description: A few weeks ago we had year 5 and 6 camp on our school field. This week for writing we had to create a recount about our camp experience. Check out my camp experience below:

Two weeks ago we had year five and six camp. We stayed at school for 3 days and two nights. We had it on our school field because where would we sleep in the classrooms? 

Our first activity was cooking. We were making scones. They were crumbly and powdery from the flour when we made them. After cooking we had morning tea under the marquee. 

After that we quietly walked to the hall. My team leader told us the rules about the hall. Then I jumped on the trampoline and body slammed onto the mats. I also went on a scooter and played table tennis. 

Finally we had Killer Zone. For Killer Zone we had to verse Tui, we were team Canada and the other team was USA. We had to do teamwork and the first thing we did was make the board go across the river. It was kind of frustrating because some people touched the river and we got penalty points. 

The last thing we did on day one was watch a movie. We watched Over the Moon in room 9 and 10. I did not like this movie because it was kind of old and I have watched it many times. I did try and zip my mouth so that I didn’t spoil it for anyone else. 

On day two the first thing we did was go kayaking. We had to get dressed with our togs underneath our clothes and it was really wet and cold. I had rice bubbles for breakfast because I don’t like wheat-bix even though I tried it before and said I liked it. 

Next we played a game called cyclo-ball and I did not want to play it because the seats were too tall. I can only ride if the seat is short. 

Then we went to the slip and slide and I only went one time because the grass was kind of muddy. I also didn’t like it because it was boring. So I went to get changed and Miss Parrant said I could take photos. Nu Nu and Zohidah went to get changed into warm clothes too. 

Finally we had a camp concert and we could do one more practice for our dance before it started. We went to the marquee and then we went to the hall and sat down in my line. When it started it went all quiet. The first team to dance was Piwakawaka. The group that won the dance competition was Weka. 

I had so much fun at camp and I can’t wait to go to camp next year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *